Grays Harbor Raceway

  • 1



Shane Kerrigan, Kuntz, and Woolverton Feature Winners on HOT night!


Grays Harbor Raceway

Shane Kerrigan, Kuntz, and Woolverton Feature Winners on HOT night!

Another weekend of racing action took to the 3/8 banked clay oval as the 360 Limited Sprint Cars, Super Stocks and Hornets were the classes on hand. With temperatures reaching 93 degrees and the sun was shining bright.

Super Stocks:

Aberdeen's Shane Kerrigan led the field to the green flag in the 20-lap feature event. Jayson Wolcott of Gig Harbor moved into second with Port Orchard's Brenden White in third. Austin Kerrigan of Aberdeen worked his way past White and set his sights on Wolcott in second. Larry Paladin of Aberdeen looked to make his way into a podium spot running in fourth. Wolcott and Paladin battled for third for a handful of laps as the father/son duo of Shane and Austin Kerrigan pulled away from the rest of the field. The first caution of the feature on lap 4 saw White spin in turn four, blowing a right rear tire. On the restart it was Shane Kerrigan leading Austin Kerrigan, Paladin and Wolcott to the green flag. Austin stayed within striking distance of his father Shane, looking to track him down for the lead. Lap 8 saw Austin look to the low side a handful of times making it a threat for his father Shane, but couldn't make the pass. Lap 10 saw contact between Paladin and Austin Kerrigan in turn two, causing Paladin to have a flat right front tire. Steve Vonheeder of Bremerton moved into second, as Shane Kerrigan continued to lead. Austin Kerrigan went back to third. Austin worked his way by Vonheeder. A late race caution setup a two-car battle between the Kerrigan's with Shane picking up the win. Austin Kerrigan, Paladin, Vonheeder and Wolcott rounded out the top five. Austin Kerrigan picked up the heat race win.


20 Hornets signed in for the evening with 16 starting the feature event. Rochester driver Richard Woolverton and Jason Reed of Elma set the front row of the 15-lap feature event. Reed took the early lead with Woolverton in second. The battle for third saw Jeff Hatton of Montesano and Olympia's Zach Dalrymple, with Hatton keeping the third spot. The battle for a spot in the top five was the race to watch between four cars. Tyler Sundstrom of Hoquiam, Brandon Tyler of Elma, Riley Shapansky of Elma and Tenino's Scott Tobeck. Tyler and Sundstrom continued the battle with Sundstrom making his way into the top five. The caution flag flew on lap 4 as there was debris in turn four. Reed brought the field to the green flag, but saw issues on the start shuffling him back to sixth with Woolverton taking over the lead. Hatton worked his way into second and Reed worked his way back into third, and quickly into second. Lap 9 saw the caution flag come out for Tyler, spinning in turn two. Woolverton, Reed, Hatton and Dalrymple led the field to the green flag. Woolverton quickly jumped out front with Reed looking to track him down for the lead. Sundstrom and Hatton battled for third with Dalrymple close behind. Woolverton saw tough company as Reed looked to make a pass for the lead late in the race. Both drivers raced side by side with Reed taking the top spot on the white flag. Reed went high in turn two allowing Woolverton to get side by side. Reed went high again in turn four allowing Woolverton to make a last corner pass and pick up the win. Jason Reed, Sundstrom, Briggs Sr and Hatton rounded out the top five. Woolverton and Jason Reed were both heat race winners.

360 Limited Sprints

Ending out the night was the 25-lap feature event. Levi Kuntz of Carnation led the field to the green flag. Maple Ridge, BC driver Kai Dixon and Olympia driver Destry Miller battled for second quickly with Miller taking over the runner up position. Kuntz quickly jumped out front with Miller looking to chase him down. The caution flag flew for Dixon, spinning in turn one on lap 4. On the restart it was Kuntz, Destry Miller, Oak Harbor's Dustin Gehring, leading the rest of the field to the green flag. Miller stayed to the back bumper of Kuntz, looking to take over the lead. After a few laps Kuntz put some distance on Miller, as the battle for the fourth position saw Kiera Zylstra of Monroe and Shelton's Tim Martin duke it out. Kuntz continued to look strong out front with Miller slowly reeling him in. Xan Miller of Olympia worked her way into the top five after getting by Martin. Lap traffic started to become a factor as Kuntz put some distance on Destry Miller. Zylstra looked to make a bid for a podium spot, getting closer to Gehring. Martin looked to work his way back into the top five as he looked to the high side of Xan Miller. Martin made a side-by-side run, but a slight brush of the backstretch wall took the momentum and Xan Miller continued in fifth. Kuntz saw tough company on the last lap as Destry Miller look to make an attempt to pull off an upset, but Kuntz picked up the win over Destry Miller, Ghering, Zylstra and Xan Miller. Kuntz picked up the heat race win and Gehring was quick time.

Racing will resume next Saturday night with the 360 Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, PHRA Dwarf Cars, Super Stocks, and the PMSA 600cc Micro Sprints in action. Gates open at 4:30 with racing at 6PM. For more information and ticket sales go to

All of the staff at Grays Harbor Raceway want to wish all the Mothers a Happy Mother's Day!

Grays Harbor Raceway
May 13, 2023

360 Limited Sprints:
Fast Time:
51D Dustin Gehring

Heat Race:

  1. 29K Levi Kuntz, 2. 20K Kai Dixon, 3. 3X Destry Miller, 4. 51D Dustin Gehring, 5. 51 Tim Martin, 6. 23X Xan Miller, 7. 21Z Kiera Zylstra, 8. 77 Alex Olsen


  1. Kuntz, 2. Destry Miller, 3. Gehring, 4. Zylstra, 5. Xan Miller, 6. Martin, 7. Dixon, 8. Olsen

Super Stocks:
Heat Race:

  1. AK47 Austin Kerrigan, 2. 43K Shane Kerrigan, 3. 2 Larry Paladin, 4. 83LSX Jayson Wolcott, 5. 5B Chuck Goodman, 6. 19s Steve Vonheeder, 7. 90 Brenden White (DNS)


  1. Shane Kerrigan, 2. Austin Kerrigan, 3. Paladin, 4. Vonheeder, 5. Wolcott, 6. White, 7. Goodman

Heat 1:

  1. 95 Richard Woolverton, 2. 23 Tyler Sundstrom, 3. 18 Brandon Tyler, 4. 22 Riley Shapansky, 5. 423 Randy Goodman, 6. 72 Jeremy Cleveland, 7. 88 Ryan Shapansky, 8. 13XXX Don Briggs Sr., 9. 41 Scott Reed, 10. 37 Mark Cooper

Heat 2:

  1. 45 Jason Reed, 2. 07 Jeff Hatton, 3. 0 Zach Dalrymple, 4. 39 Scott Tobeck, 5. 81M Kyle White, 6. 33 Dale Vacknitz, 7. 85 Robert Shapansky, 8. 27 Dean Cleveland, 9. 425 Jacob Saulsbury (DNS), 10. 29 Peyton Harding (DNS)


  1. Woolverton, 2. Jason Reed, 3. Sundstrom, 4. Briggs Sr., 5. Hatton, 6. Dalrymple, 7. Ryan Shapansky, 8. Kyle White, 9. Tyler, 10. Riley Shapansky, 11. Vacknitz, 12. Goodman, 13. Jeremy Cleveland, 14. Robert Shapansky, 15. Tobeck, 16. Dean Cleveland

Article Credit: Aaron Reed

Article Media

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

May 2, 2015 Modifieds A Main
May 2, 2015 Street Stocks A Main
May 2, 2015 Sportsman Sprints A Main
May 2, 2015 Outlaw Tuners A Main
Cut Rate Auto Parts
Hoosier Racing Tires
Lucky Eagle Casino
Our Community Credit Union
Whitneys Auto Group
Elma Chamber of Commerce
Grays Harbor Fair
Q Mart
Napa Auto Parts
Coors Light
Coca Cola
Guest House