Driver Websites
Practice Night and The Finishline Graphics Chili Feed Kicks Off the Yakima Weekend!
2015 Summer Thunder Schedule
Here 2 Wire Inc. Jump Starts Summer Thunder Sprint Series Points Fund!
Yakima Dirt Track to host the Summer Thunder Sprint Series Season Opener!
Season Tickets on Sale!
Practice Night and The Finishline Graphics Chili Feed Kicks Off the Yakima Weekend!

Practice Night and The Finishline...

2/17/2015 -
The inaugural Yakima Valley Sprint Car Challenge is just around the corner and the event continues to grow! A practice night has been added on Friday night April 3rd from 5:00pm - 8:00pm. Sprint cars and modifieds are welcome to
2015 Summer Thunder Schedule

2015 Summer Thunder Schedule

2/10/2015 -
2015 Summer Thunder Sprint Series Schedule: April 4: Yakima Dirt Track May 2: Skagit Speedway June 6: Grays Harbor Raceway June 25-26-27: Dirt Cup - Skagit Speedway - ASCS National Series July 3-4: Fred Brownfield Classic -
Here 2 Wire Inc. Jump Starts Summer Thunder Sprint Series Points Fund!

Here 2 Wire Inc. Jump Starts Summer...

1/31/2015 -
All over the country every track has its super fans that support racing in their area. The Pacific Northwest is no different; several people over the decades have stepped up to support the sport they love. For many years Glen and
Yakima Dirt Track to host the Summer Thunder Sprint Series Season Opener!

Yakima Dirt Track to host the Summer...

1/29/2015 -
Funtime Promotions is pleased to announce the 2015 season opener for the Summer Thunder Sprint Series will be at the Central Washington State Fairgrounds Dirt track Saturday April 4th. The ‘Yakima Valley Sprintcar Challenge’
Season Tickets on Sale!

Season Tickets on Sale!

1/27/2015 -
Season Tickets for the 2015 Grays Harbor Racing Series are now on sale! Season tickets will be good for ALL 2015 events. Why buy a season ticket?? • Save $$$ over buying individual tickets • Guarantee your same
  • 32 Elma McCleary Road
  • Elma, WA 98541
  • 360-482-4374


Johnson, Thomas, Asche and Norton Emerge Victorious

It may have been a chilly Saturday night, but the action on-track was hot as the Northwest Wingless Tour/Oregon Double Shot Series made its final appearance of the year at Grays Harbor Raceway along with the USAC HPD Midget Series, Modifieds and Outlaw Tuners.

In the USAC Northwest HPD Midget Series, Garrett Thomas of McCleary was looking for his first win of the season after numerous second place finishes and some bad luck, he finally got the monkey off of his back. Thomas started on the pole of the 25-lap main event, alongside Ariel Biggs. Thomas had a great start, but the yellow came out for a spin in turn two, which set up a complete restart, allowing Thomas to have another great start. 2013 USAC HPD Series champion Chase Goetz had to work his way through the field from the 7th starting position and it didn't take long for him to work his way into the third spot. Goetz set his sights on Montesano driver Jeremy Miller as a battle ensued between the two, allowing Thomas to pull away. Once Goetz got around Miller his sights were then set on Thomas. Goetz would get a good run on Thomas going in the corners, but Thomas would pull away slightly on the straightaway. At the end of 25 laps, Thomas picked up the win, Goetz in second, Jeremy Miller third, Dougie James fourth, and Lance Sargent rounded out the top five. Heat Race winners were Goetz and Dougie James and Goetz also picked up Quick Time on the night.

In a 19-car field of Modifieds, Kris Asche was also looking to shed his streak of bad luck. Asche started on the outside front row of the 25-lap Feature next to Jake VanOrtwick. With a heavy field of modified drivers, Asche got a great start and took the lead early with VanOrtwick and Tom Sweatman in hot pursuit. Bill Rowe brought out the first caution on lap three which bunched the field back up, allowing the drivers to have another shot at Asche for the lead. Asche got another great start, as behind him, Shelton driver Scott Miller moved into second, and it wasn't long before the caution flag waved once again as Jake VanOrtwick slowed down the backstretch with a flat right rear tire. As the race went back green, Asche continued to pull away, but the field behind him battled side by side, even three wide for position. Asche would continue to pull away and take home the checkers after leading all 25 laps. Craig Moore, Scott Miller, Lawrence O'Connor, and Jake VanOrtwick rounded out the top five. Heat Race winners were Josh Muller and Kyler Moore.

In the Northwest Wingless Tour feature, Brad Rhodes of Hillsboro, Oregon, and Portland, Oregon's Tony Parker started on the front row. Parker took the early lead, but it wasn't long before the caution came out for Mike Romig who spun in turn three. On the restart, Parker once again took the lead from the high side, but it wasn't long before Tulalip's Sean Johnson was right on his back bumper and took the lead down the backstretch. With Johnson at the point, the battle for third between Rhodes andSterling Kane was one to watch, as it wasn't long before Kane was into the second position setting his sights on Johnson, allowing Parker, Romig, and Rhodes to battle it out for third.In the end, Johnson picked up his first career feature win, followed by Mike Romig, Jake Gillman, Sterling Kane, and Tony Parker. The Heat Race winner was Mike Romig and Quick Time went to Sterling Kane.

The final feature of the evening was the Outlaw Tuners and Tenino driver Chad Norton wasted no time taking the lead. Norton wasn't alone as Jeff Daniel of Ocean Shores was right on his back bumper waiting for any mistakes from Norton. Early on, Daniel looked to the outside of Norton to try to take the lead, but got up out of the groove, allowing Norton to stretch his lead. Daniel would get close to Norton but at the end of the 15 lap feature, it was Chad Norton picking up his second win of the season. Jeff Daniel, Shane Turner, Michael Bachlor, and Dale Vacknitz rounded out the top five. The Outlaw Tuners Heat Race winner was Jeff Daniel.

Racing resumes next Saturday night at Grays Harbor Raceway with the 360 Sprint Cars, Modifieds, Street Stocks and the Outlaw Tuners. Gates open at 5:30pm, with racing starting at 7:00pm.


New Comment
Forgot Password?